Too Good for me

Noel Cato

He told me he loved me
And it made me cry
He wasn’t mine
Or more rather
Not the one to whom I had given my life.
He was at home … I think
Or at her house
Or making plans to cock her up on my dining room table
He never told me he loved me
He didn’t want to tell me lies
I hate him just a little
But this aint about the one I married
This is about the one who loves me.
The one who loves me.
The one who still believes in shivery
And that a man’s place…. His place
Is to protect me
Yet he had been the justifying voice of, ironically, my marriage.
Somewhere along the line the tide of his conversations had shifted
Pleasantries and life advice gave way to fantasies
Of rose petals traveling the length of my body on the propulsion of his breath
Just before he lapped his way form toe to lip
Singing silent but eloquent hyms of praise to me…………. Oh my!
Focused……..predatory…something more than common
Far removed form the psychological games little boys play in the pirsiut of cheap pussy
But see
He is too good for me
Trust issues, love issues, sarcastic, cynical
Knocked up thrice, knocked all the way down twice and still falling
Chip on my shoulder putting Everest to shame
And he was just too nice
To see that he was too good for me
He loved me
I cried
‘Cause even as I love him
Even as body and mind yearn for him
Even as spirit makes moves to make room for our joining
In my breast there is an inky blackness
A taint so richly wicked
That it only ever gave way for someone as damaged as me.
It made him too good for me.

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

One response to “Too Good for me

Any thoughts on this?

