So She Said…

black-man-crying-377x414

Then he said sorry was the start of something, that some how spurned a response from his lover and a twist in the story of their rapport. Sometimes the blind eye we turn for our own skulduggery, is the one that misses a mutual betrayal. But is there a right and wrong for these lovers? How will their story end.

“Baby” she sighed,
“There’s a burden I got to make known
I want you to hear my side,
But before I do, let’s set the tone by laying pride aside”
She started,
“Baby there is you, but for a time there was him,
I won’t insult your intelligence and say he was nothing, he was something.
But what he was is not you, me and him, we were never us”
She continued saying
“It started out as nothing, really nothing. We were companions of an intellectual sort
We took joy in idle conversation, that became the heavy precipitation,
Of deeper meditation,
Rising from the mutualism of loneliness.”
Eyes downcast she carried on saying.
“he found comfort in the simplicity of our interaction,
It was belly laughs and easy smiles that bought us two closer
We supplied a mutual shoulder,
To share the weight of our enigma, you and her….”’
Pause…she squared her shoulders, and continued spinning her tale.
“In the space between breaths we made the transition,
From damp shoulders to warm arms,
Replaced by soft lips flavored with the common need for an absentee lover
He searched for her in the curve of my body and I looked for you in the warmth of his smile,
But baby I’m soo sorry”
Words and tears tumbled freely… she related her reason.
“Baby I don’t mean to call you selfish,
But while you built your ego a citadel against me,
With the security of my fidelity a foundation under the brick and mortar of their affectionate praise
You expected me to lay waiting for you to deem me worthy of your time,
He wasn’t looking for a return on some investment, he found something in the possession of me”
And in my mind I’m thinking
How could she misinterpret so blatantly
Misunderstood soo simply
That I carried her with me,
Made space in a place too scared to name,
More intimate than my heart
More passionate than my spirit
More epic than my pride…I took her with me
I lived and breathed her, ate her, loved and dreamed her.
I was a slave to this empress
A point it seemed that had failed to impress
And for all of this, she looked at me expecting reprieve
Because she said sorry.

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

Any thoughts on this?

