Token

I can’t write you a poem,
I can surround myself with the tunes that have defined us as an us,
The somedays and far always, and the Shadae to the Korn.
And still the words won’t come
I can’t write you a poem,
I can relive in high definition our most passionate moments
Our rises and falls to rival any phoenix
With tears and joy and trepidation and anger
And recall with crushing force the blow by blow
The warfare waged, the scars we both inflicted
I can map the journey we have taken
And it still cannot make me write you a poem
but before you misread, misjudge, misunderstand and misconstrue
Before you close your eyes and your heart to my meaning
Let me interject that I love you.
Yes I love you, but more than that
I carry you with me
Hear
I can’t write you that poem because to try to distill into words the tale of two souls merging is
A feat that is less than mediocre
I don’t know a language so transcendent of this one to do justice
to the torrent set free behind my breasts
I can’t write you a poem that would describe the sense of comfort in the circle of your arms
Or find the metaphor to emulate the honey musk of your lips known better to my spirit as home
I can’t express with my words how welcoming I am of your passion
I worship you with the temple of my body,
Comfort you in the heat of my embrace
Honor you in the unconditionality of my presence
And obey in all things the doctrine that leads to your fulfillment
I can’t write you a poem
Such a small token
When I’ve given you me

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

4 responses to “Token

Any thoughts on this?

