Fallen

70209271

I woke up without my wings
I’d forgotten how to fly
And my sorrow ran in rivulets down my cheeks
I’d lost something crucial in the fall
I searched the sky for the way back
And it was veiled to me
You see I had lost my wings
Hands clenched and I wailed at no one listening
To my hollow cries of condemnation
To my rant of misery at having lost the warmth of HIS glow
Or so I felt
I thought he had abandoned me and that is why
I had lost my wings
A storm raged behind my eyes
And I waged war against that emptiness that was left
That feeling of something so beautiful
I could never grasp it in these mortal hands
Or see it in the limited spectrum of these mortal eyes
I lost my wings, I lost my reason for being
And then there it was
I felt rather than saw it happening
Somewhere in my ranting rage it slipped in
Quietly watching the sight I must have been
Over thick glasses with that quizzical smile
Cause even though I had lost my wings
He still saw and angel
And loved me all the more for my flaws
And even though my mind had not caught up to the epiphany of my heart
My soul had read the script like a good novel on a cold day
HE had taken my wings
I’d forgotten how to fly
To give me this feeling
And ability to soar on the strength of his admiration
I had not been abandoned
I had not lost face
I was not the object that had fallen from grace
I was she who was blessed with him

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

3 responses to “Fallen

Any thoughts on this?

