Covered in your blood

blood

I’m afraid to speak
Because words have blades
Death by a million cuts
A million stings
Dripping single drops of scarlet

I’m afraid to act
To ease the pressure
Rib creaking fullness
Of vile emotion
A grim face creature
Born and cultivated in darkness
With dead shiftless eyes
Steadfast in its mission
It’s out for blood

I’m afraid to move
To run and never get there
Of taking the first step into an empty eternity
The strife of the next conquest not enough to sate
This emptiness

I’m afraid to cry
To hear my broken heart
Or to feel pure rage run down my cheeks
Locked motionless in my own body
Mind ever awake and ever feeling
The searing agony of your good intentions

All I wanted was my freedom
I paid my soul
Not knowing you were the devil

All I wanted was my freedom
Now I have to rip it from your chest
And scrawl my declarations in your blood

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

Any thoughts on this?

