Gangster

images (6)

I left the club and my friends fed up with it all.

I hunched my shoulders against the wind, and followed the sound of my own footfall.

I bumped into a bundle of cloth, shocked to find an old lady inside.I made my apologies and offer hot coffee.

I need company.

“I’ve never met a polite gangster” she said.

I found out from her, the bundle was her home, no family, no friends, she was alone.

I offer food and comfort, if only for a while.

“I’ve never met a kind gangster”

I found in her a piece of myself i kept trying to hide.

That part of me that missed the selfless love of family, and the comradery of true friendship.

I told her so.

“I’ve never met a lonely gamgster”

Tears in her eyes as she tells me of the son the gangs had taken, stolen from her.

The daughter drugs had killed.

The husband who had tried to fight but lost, to the black hearted streets.

I cried with her.

“I’ve never met a compassionate gangster”

She told me of her god.

Who had a purpose for us all, and her faith that someday she would be with him.

She told me she saw him in me, that i was a blessing. I prayed with her.

“I’ve never met a humble gangster”

An old woman’s hand cups my cheek,

I look into eyes that have seen many worlds pass by.

“My son inside you there is no gangster.”

her final tears were shed, as her final words touched the heart of a former gangster.

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

4 responses to “Gangster

  • platosgroove

    Is it that all gangers are hurt and desperate children demanding taking from the world that which can only be given freely and thus denying themselves the very thing their heart desires?

    Like

    • michelletoussaint

      I don’t know about all, because some people are just evil, but some definitely are just kids who got sucked into this thing because they needed family and love and acceptance. Unfortunately by the time they realize these things are nowhere to be had, it’s too late.

      Liked by 1 person

      • platosgroove

        Yes mam. I’ve dealt with some psychopaths. Some on the street. Some in business. Some in political office. White ones black ones. The trappings don’t matter. Some have damned theselves. Some are still seeking life.

        Liked by 1 person

  • michelletoussaint

    I guess it just goes to show that we are all just people. despite our color or trappings, we are all subject to life’s cruelty. The ones that want saving are definitely worth the effort 🙂 and we just have to mourn the lost

    Like

Any thoughts on this?

