You should have been my ex

71

You should have been my ex,

You should have been a fading image,

Getting smaller in my hindsight,

As life took me,

In any direction that led me away from you.

Yes, you should have been my ex,

So that my ears wouldn’t ring,

From all the things unsaid,

Bouncing around in echoes,

All inside my head.

You should have been,

A lingering smell,

On an old set of sweats,

Carelessly forgotten in the things you forgot,

And I forget to throw away,

Things that should belong to my ex.

You should have been my ex,

Someone to associate with,

A memory barely remembered,’

Of the way you touched my face,

And the way you used to taste,

And the way you would laugh if only to make me follow,

Something fondly remembered,

In a moment of reflection,

On the lessons learned from failures ended.

Yes you should have been my ex,

But here you are,

And here I am,

And here we are talking over,

All the things that were said in earnest,

Looking back together in mindsight,

At the driving force behind our latest solution,

As I wear your old sweats ‘cause they smell like you,

And you touch my face in that tender way you do,

Just before you kiss me,

And smile and invite me to walk another mile or two in your company,

I hear, and smell, and taste, and feel you,

And I’m reminded why you are not my ex.

©Michelle Toussaint, all rights reserved

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

2 responses to “You should have been my ex

Any thoughts on this?

