Tears of My Sister

I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to write this assignment today. Then I came across an amazing post by Jane Basil, titled Fifty Thousand Words. And this came spilling out. To Listen to this poem CLICK HERE

179665_607864865897493_2067992374_n

My sister cries.

She succumbs to her,

Dark places,

Crawls into her,

Head spaces, and lets it go.

She lets the grit on her soul,

Run down her cheeks,

And for a while she is blind.

She doesn’t see her strength,

Her shine.

She loses sight of,

The battles won in the fight,

for all she’s held dear.

She doesn’t know the power of her words,

Cutting deep into souls,

Not already acquainted with,

Her flavor of struggle.

My sister cries,

And from her eyes fall,

All the doubt and pain,

All the hurt that adhered through whatever,

Never knowing that nevermore,

Shall she face those same demons again.

Tears fall from my sister,

And she focused on the fractures in her soul,

And she weaves a web of Fifty thousand words,

Heard across the universe,

Each sparkling with the sorrow of,

Tears of that same number.

My sister cries and touches each and every one she meets,

With the wisdom gained by hard living,

And strong loving,

And hope.

I would cry with my sister,

If it wouldn’t blur her brilliance,

If it wouldn’t leave me blind,

To the kaleidoscopic radiance,

That is my sister,

The sum of her flaws, and

Her perfection.

© Michelle Toussaint

About Michelle Toussaint

Michelle Toussaint is an Antiguan who has amassed an Associate Degree in Science Education as well as a Diploma in Forensic Science. As such, she Teaches Science in the classroom as well as at home, where she leads...er... co-leads The Tribe. A merry band comprising her Husband-The Chief, herself-The Priestess, and her three precocious children- the tribesmen. When she isn’t mothering, teaching, being a fangirl or feeding her chocolate addiction. She writes two blogs. Random_Michelle and Death By Expectations. View all posts by Michelle Toussaint

11 responses to “Tears of My Sister

Any thoughts on this?

